THE MOMENT YOU DECIDED TO RUN AWAY, EVERYTHING CHANGED FOREVER.

Typed this on 29 Oct but realised i didnt post it.

Isn’t it funny how the people who destroys us are the ones closest to us and we destroys the people who are the closest to us? I’m not saying all the times. Just most.

After reading kite runner, my heart just ache so much for Hassan and his son… How can anyone be loyal to this extent..? He knew it. He knew he saw. He saw him run away. Without him. But he has always still considered him as his best friend in front of his family. I felt that Amir represents the side shows us how fear can screw humanity up. Guilt always follow right behind. Avoidance. Repentance. Sometimes the cycle repeats all over again.

Baba’s stony eyes bore into mine and, just like that, I wasn’t laughing anymore.
I mean to speak to you man to man. Do you think you can handle that for once?”
“Yes, Baba jan,” I muttered, marveling, not for the first time, at how badly Baba could sting me with so few words. We’d had a fleeting good moment–it wasn’t often Baba talked to me, let alone on his lap–and I’d been a fool to waste it.
“Good,” Baba said, but his eyes wondered. “Now, no matter what the mullah teaches, there is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. Do you understand that?”
“No, Baba jan,” I said, desperately wishing I did. I didn’t want to disappoint him again.
Baba heaved a sigh of impatience. That stung too, because he was not an impatient man. I remembered all the times he didn’t come home until after dark, all the times I ate dinner alone. I’d ask Ali where Baba was, when he was coming home, though I knew full well he was at the construction site, overlooking this, supervising that. Didn’t that take patience? I already hated all the kids he was building the orphanage for; sometimes I wished they’d all died along with their parents.
“When you kill a man, you steal a life,” Baba said. “You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness. Do you see?”

Probably one of the more impactful part of the book. The father’a teaching to his son. And his son yearning for his affection to the extent that his jealousy extents to anyone who his father slightly favors. Including his best friend. Probably this is how the plot will be created.

Amir avoidance of Hassan who is simply a reminder of his own devil his own mistake. He’s too selfish. But then again, we are all selfish. 人不为己,天诛地灭。Is it really like this? But somehow people like Hassan always exists and they are the sole reason why people still believe in humanity. Thank you. I’m not sure if I believe in second chances but I’m sure I would want one when I make a mistake. Ironic much.

Leave a Reply

